LOUIS VIERNE:
Symphonies for Organ

Louis Vierne: Symphonies for Organ
Hans-Dieter Meyer-Moortgat, organ

3 CDs in a Multibox
recorded on the
romantic Mühleisen Organ (constructed in 2000)
at the Cathedral of Bad Gandersheim, Germany

From the Booklet of this album:

One may regard Louis Vierne as one of the most important representatives of the “école sym­phonique” – the symphonic school – in France. But in fact, the musical position of this most prominent organist in the series of “organistes titulaires” of Notre-Dame de Paris, the titulary organists, has long been underestimated. In his extensive oeuvre for the organ (six Symphonies, Pièces de Fantaisie, Pièces en style libre, two organ masses as well as various individual works for the organ), Vierne shows a clear tendency of progression from tonality towards atonality, never completed compositionally in his works but always integrated into the musical dramaturgy of the work in question.

Vierne was born on 8 October 1870 in Poitiers, almost blind, and developed his overly sensitive yet kindly character not least due to this physical limitation. Vierne received initial instruction from Louis Lebel and Henri Adam, then later from César Franck in the subjects of fugue and counterpoint. In the year 1900 he was appointed titulary organist at the Cathédrale de Notre-Dame de Paris, selected from many applicants. In 1937, Vierne died as the result of a stroke during a concert, at the console of his organ at Notre-Dame. His large circle of pupils included the important organists and composers Marcel Dupré, Maurice Duruflé and Gaston Litaize.

On the Symphonies for Organ Louis Vierne composed altogether six “Symphonies for Organ” between the years 1899 and 1930:

Symphony No. 1, in D Minor, Op. 14
This Symphony was first published in 1899 and was composed on the occasion of Vierne's application for the post of titulary organist at Notre-Dame de Paris. Vierne dedicated it to the organist and composer Alexandre Guilmant (1837&xnbsp;– 1911), who took over the organ class of Charles-Marie Widor at the Paris Conservatory in 1896, in which class Vierne continued to act as teaching assistant. As regards its structure, it is the only one of Vierne's symphonies which consists of six movements [...]

Symphony No. 2, in E Minor, Op. 20
The Second Symphony was composed in 1902, thus only three years after the First, and it is cyclically composed, i. e. the themes used are not limited to individual movements but appear in several of the movements of the work. This work is dedicated to the renowned organ builder Charles Mutin, who took over the directorship of the famous Aristide Cavaillé-Coll organ building factory in 1898.
This Symphony received its world premiere at Notre-Dame de Paris on 23 February 1903, performed by the composer himself. Claude Debussy, not only a composer but also a sharp-tongued critic, heard this premiere and wrote the following on 23 February 1903 in his column in “Gil Blas”: “[…] the richest musicality is united with meaningful invention in the specific sound of the organ. Old J. S. Bach, the father of us all, would have been satisfied with Mr. Vierne.” [...]

Symphony No. 3, F-sharp Minor, op. 28
Vierne spent the summer months of 1911 at the holiday residence of the Dupré family in Saint-Valéry-en-Caux in Normandy. He wrote his Third Symphony there, dedicated to his pupil Marcel Dupré. [...]

Symphony No. 4, G Minor, Op. 32
The last three symphonies of Vierne are all composed according to the cyclic principle first applied by the composer in his Second Symphony. In addition, a rather gloomy and depressive tone comes to the fore starting with the Fourth Symphony, which can be related to Vierne's various professional and private defeats. The Fourth Symphony was composed in 1914 in La Rochelle and is dedicated to his friend, the American organist William C. Carl (“to my friend, William C. Carl”), the founder of the Guilmant Organ School in New York City. [...]

Symphony No. 5, A Minor, Op. 47
Vierne's penultimate symphony was composed in 1923 and 1924, part of it during a concert tour through Switzerland and Italy. It is dedicated to Vierne's pupil and friend Joseph Bonnet (“to my pupil and dear friend Joseph Bonnet”). [...]

Symphony No. 6, H Minor, op. 59
This last Symphony of Louis Vierne was composed in 1930 in Menton on the Côte d’Azur “within view of the sea” and is dedicated to the memory of the American organist Lynwood Farnam, of whose tragic death Vierne was informed shortly beforehand (“to the memory of my greatly lamented friend”). In the published edition, Vierne added the following:
“In testimony of my profound admiration for this great musician and unique virtuoso, prematurely departed from us in full glory.”.
The world premiere of this Symphony took place on 3 June 1934 in Notre-Dame de Paris, performed by the composer's pupil, Maurice Duruflé. [...]

Jörg Abbing


Louis Vierne (1870 – 1937)
Symphonies for Organ
CD 1
Symphony No. 1   D minor   op. 14

[1]

Prélude

7'01

[2]

Fugue

4'20

[3]

Pastorale

7'34

[4]

Allegro Vivace

4'28

[5]

Andante

6'24

[6]

Final

6'28


Symphony No. 2   E minor   op. 20

[7]

Allegro

7'01

[8]

Choral

8'14

[9]

Scherzo

4'08

[10]

Cantabile

8'25

[11]

Final

7'45


CD 2
Symphony No. 3   F-sharp minor   op. 28

[1]

Allegro Maëstoso

6'10

[2]

Cantilène

4'20

[3]

Intermezzo

3'44

[4]

Adagio

7'19

[5]

Final

6'08


Symphony No. 4   G minor   op. 32

[6]

Prélude

6'15

[7]

Allegro

5'23

[8]

Menuet

7'30

[9]

Romance

7'37

[10]

Final

5'40


CD 3
Symphony No. 5   A minor   op. 47

[1]

Grave

7'53

[2]

Allegro

7'18

[3]

Tempo di Scherzo ma non troppo

4'19

[4]

Allegro Vivace

9'36

[5]

Final

9'52


Symphony No. 6   B minor   op. 59

[6]

Introduction et Allegro

9'07

[7]

Aria

7'06

[8]

Scherzo

4'29

[9]

Adagio

9'10

[10]

Final

7'48


  ”I came into the world almost completely blind; my parents surrounded me with particular warmth, which caused me, very early on, to develop an almost unhealthy oversensitivity […]. This condition pursued me during my entire life and was the cause of times of great joy, but also of times of unspeakable suffering.”  
Completely in the sense of this autobiographical utterance, his six “Symphonies for Organ” are in minor keys. At the same time, in chronological order of the composition of these symphonies, their tonic notes form the first six notes of a major scale, namely D major. Was this positive nuance intentional on the composer's part, and could it perhaps be interpreted as a nearly blind musician's “hope for light?”
sonox musikproduktion

Hans-Dieter Meyer-Moortgat ............. organ

Recorded: 14th/15th Oktober 2007, Mühleisen Organ, Collegiate Church (Cathedral) Bad Gandersheim, Germany · Recording, Cut: Marcel Babazadeh · Engineering, Layout: sonox musikproduktion · Mastering: Thomas Sandmann, master orange music · DDD · Total playing time:

CD1: 71’45   ·   CD2: 60’04   ·   CD3: 76’32

SICUSKlassik   sic 010-2


· [back] · [start] ·

LOUIS VIERNE:
Symphonien für Orgel

Louis Vierne: Orgelsinfonien
Hans-Dieter Meyer-Moortgat, Orgel

3 CDs in Multibox
aufgenommen an der 2000 erbauten
romantischen Mühleisenorgel
im Dom zu Bad Gandersheim

Aus dem Booklet zu diesem Album:

Man mag zwar in Louis Vierne einen der bedeutendsten Vertreter der „École symphonique“ in Frankreich, also der „symphonischen Schule“, sehen, tatsächlich ist die musikalische Stellung dieses wohl zugleich prominentesten Organisten in der Reihe der „organistes titulaires“ von Notre-Dame de Paris, der „Titularorganisten“, lange Zeit unterschätzt worden: So zeigt Vierne in seinem umfangreichen Orgelwerk (sechs Symphonien, Pièces de Fantaisie, Pièces en style libre, zwei Orgelmessen sowie verschiedene Einzelwerke für Orgel) mittels seines kompromisslosen Gebrauchs der Chromatik und der Einbeziehung nicht tonaler Systeme (wie z. B. der Ganztonleitern) eine deutliche Tendenz von der Tonalität hin zur Atonalität, die jedoch in seinen Werken nie vollends kompositorisch vollzogen, sondern stets episodenhaft in die musikalische Dramaturgie des Werkes integriert wird.

Vierne kam am 8. Oktober 1870 in Poitiers fast blind zur Welt und entwickelte nicht zuletzt wegen dieser gesundheitlichen Beeinträchtigung sein übersensibles doch gütiges Naturell. Zunächst erhielt Vierne Unterricht bei Louis Lebel und Henri Adam, später dann in den Fächern Fuge und Kontrapunkt bei César Franck. Im Jahre 1900 wurde er unter vielen Bewerbern zum Titularorganisten an der Kathedrale Notre-Dame de Paris ernannt. Im Jahre 1937, am 2. Juni, verstarb Vierne während eines Konzerts am Spieltisch seiner Orgel in Notre-Dame an den Folgen eines Gehirnschlags. Zu seinem großen Schülerkreis gehörten unter anderem die bedeutenden Organisten und Komponisten Marcel Dupré, Maurice Duruflé und Gaston Litaize.

Zu den Symphonien für Orgel In den Jahren 1899 bis 1930 schuf Louis Vierne insgesamt sechs „Symphonien für Orgel“:

Symphonie Nr. 1, d-Moll, op. 14
Diese Symphonie erschien zuerst 1899 und entstand anlässlich Viernes Bewerbung zum Titularorganisten an Notre-Dame de Paris. Vierne widmete sie dem Organisten und Komponisten Alexandre Guilmant (1837 - 1911), der 1896 im Pariser Konservatorium die Orgelklasse von Charles-Marie Widor übernahm, in der Vierne zunächst auch weiterhin Lehrassistent war. Vom Aufbau her ist es die einzige aus sechs Sätzen bestehende Symphonie Viernes [...]

Symphonie Nr. 2, e-Moll, op. 20
Die zweite Symphonie entstand 1902, also nur drei Jahre nach der ersten, und sie ist zyklisch komponiert, d. h., die verwendeten Themen sind nicht auf einzelne Sätze beschränkt, sondern sie werden satzübergreifend eingesetzt. Dieses Werk ist dem bekannten Orgelbauer Charles Mutin gewidmet, der 1898 die Leitung der berühmten Orgelbauwerkstatt Aristide Cavaillé-Coll übernommen hatte.
Am 23. Februar 1903 wurde diese Symphonie vom Komponisten selbst in Notre-Dame de Paris uraufgeführt. Claude Debussy, der nicht nur Komponist, sondern auch ein scharfzüngige Kritiker war, hörte diese Uraufführung und schrieb dazu am 25. Februar 1903 in seiner Kolumne in „Gil Blas“: „[…] die reichste Musikalität vereinigt sich mit sinnreichen Erfindungen im spezifischen Klang der Orgel. Der alte J. S. Bach, unser aller Vater, wäre zufrieden mit M. Vierne.“ [...]

Symphonie Nr. 3, fis-Moll, op. 28
Vierne verbrachte die Sommermonate des Jahres 1911 auf dem Feriensitz der Familie Dupré in Saint-Valéry-en-Caux in der Normandie. Dort entstand seine dritte Symphonie, die er dann seinem Schüler Marcel Dupré gewidmet hat. [...]

Symphonie Nr. 4, g-Moll, op. 32
Die letzten drei Symphonien Viernes sind alle nach dem zyklischen Prinzip komponiert, welches Vierne erstmals bei der zweiten Symphonie anwandte. Zudem macht sich ab der vierten Symphonie ein eher düsterer und depressiver Tonfall in den Symphonien breit, der auf verschiedene berufliche und private Niederlagen Viernes zurückzuführen ist. Die vierte Symphonie entstand 1914 in La Rochelle und ist dem amerikanischen Organisten und seinem Freund William C. Carl gewidmet („à mon ami William C. Carl“), dem Gründer der „Guilmant Organ School“ in New York City. [...]

Symphonie Nr. 5, a-Moll, op. 47
Die vorletzte Symphonie Viernes wurde in den Jahren 1923 und 1924 komponiert, teilweise während einer Konzertreise durch die Schweiz und Italien. Gewidmet ist sie Viernes Schüler und Freund Joseph Bonnet („à mon élève und cher ami Joseph Bonnet“). [...]

Symphonie Nr. 6, h-Moll, op. 59
Diese letzte Symphonie von Louis Vierne entstand 1930 in Menton an der Côte d'Azur im Angesicht des Meeres" und ist dem Andenken des amerikanischen Organisten Lynwood Farnam gewidmet, von dessen tragischem Tod Vierne kurz zuvor erfahren hatte („zum Andenken an meinen viel zu früh verstorbenen Freund“). In der Notenausgabe schreibt Vierne dazu weiter:
„Zum Beweis meiner großen Bewunderung für den außerordentlichen Musiker und unvergleichbaren in vollem Ruhm zu früh verstorbenen Virtuosen“.
Die Uraufführung dieser Symphonie erfolgte am 3. Juni 1934 in Notre-Dame de Paris durch seinen Schüler Maurice Duruflé. [...]

Jörg Abbing

Rezension



Louis Vierne (1870 – 1937)
Symphonien für Orgel
CD 1
Symphonie Nr. 1   d-Moll   op. 14

[1]

Prélude

7'01

[2]

Fugue

4'20

[3]

Pastorale

7'34

[4]

Allegro Vivace

4'28

[5]

Andante

6'24

[6]

Final

6'28


Symphonie Nr. 2   e-Moll   op. 20

[7]

Allegro

7'01

[8]

Choral

8'14

[9]

Scherzo

4'08

[10]

Cantabile

8'25

[11]

Final

7'45


CD 2
Symphonie Nr. 3   fis-Moll   op. 28

[1]

Allegro Maëstoso

6'10

[2]

Cantilène

4'20

[3]

Intermezzo

3'44

[4]

Adagio

7'19

[5]

Final

6'08


Symphonie Nr. 4   g-Moll   op. 32

[6]

Prélude

6'15

[7]

Allegro

5'23

[8]

Menuet

7'30

[9]

Romance

7'37

[10]

Final

5'40


CD 3
Symphonie Nr. 5   a-Moll   op. 47

[1]

Grave

7'53

[2]

Allegro

7'18

[3]

Tempo di Scherzo ma non troppo

4'19

[4]

Allegro Vivace

9'36

[5]

Final

9'52


Symphonie Nr. 6   h-Moll   op. 59

[6]

Introduction et Allegro

9'07

[7]

Aria

7'06

[8]

Scherzo

4'29

[9]

Adagio

9'10

[10]

Final

7'48


  „Ich kam fast völlig blind zur Welt; meine Eltern umgaben mich mit besonderer Herzlichkeit, was mir schon sehr früh zu einer fast ungesund zu nennenden Überempfindlichkeit verhalf [...]. Dieser Zustand verfolgte mich in meinem ganzen Leben und war der Grund für Zeiten großer Freude, aber auch Zeiten unaussprechlichen Leidens.“  
Ganz im Sinne dieser autobiographischen Äußerung Louis Viernes sind seine sechs „Symphonien für Orgel“ in Molltonarten angelegt, und zugleich bilden deren Grundtöne in chronologischer Reihenfolge des Entstehens dieser Symphonien die ersten sechs Töne einer Dur-Tonleiter, nämlich D-Dur. Sollte diese positive Nuance etwa seine Absicht gewesen sein und vielleicht als „Hoffnung auf Licht“ eines nahezu blinden Musikers gedeutet werden können?
sonox musikproduktion

Hans-Dieter Meyer-Moortgat ............. Orgel

Aufgenommen: 14./15. Oktober 2007, Mühleisenorgel, Stiftskirche (Dom) Bad Gandersheim, Deutschland · Aufnahme und Schnitt: Marcel Babazadeh · Bearbeitung und Layout: sonox musikproduktion · Mastering: Thomas Sandmann, master orange music · DDD · Gesamtdauer:

CD1: 71’45   ·   CD2: 60’04   ·   CD3: 76’32

SICUSKlassik   sic 010-2

Zur Bestellung im
Web-Shop
von sonox musikproduktion



· [Zurück] · [Start] ·